My First Comic Book Haul : Trese Comic Book Series

And I’ve finally bought my self a copy of the Trese series (Volumes 1-5) by Budjette Tan and illustrated by Kajo Baldisimo.

image

I always see this comic book series whenever I visit my local bookstore and also some that I know recommends this comic book to me but I have reservations in buying it primarily because I am not really into comic book reading but then I realized why not give it a try.

I was planning to just buy the first volume and I don’t know what got into me and I bouhht all the five available volumes. I really hope it will live up to my expectations. 🙂 (I heard that the sixth colume will be release this December, so I guess me buying all the five is fine. 😀 )

Trese is a horror/crime comic book created by Filipino writer Budjette Tan and Filipino artist Kajo Baldisimo. It follows the story of Alexandra Trese, a detective that deals with crime of supernatural origin. I haven’t started it yet but I believe it focuses on Philippine mythological creatures like the tikbalang, aswang and kapre among others.

If I enjoy this series, then definitely I will pick up other comic books. This will, I guess, make or break my relationship with comic books. 😀

“When the sun sets in the city of Manila, don’t you dare make a wrong turn and end up in that dimly-lit side of the metro, where aswang run the most-wanted kidnapping rings, where kapre are the kingpins of crime, and engkantos slip through the cracks and steal your most precious possessions.

When crime takes a turn for the weird, the police call Alexandra Trese.”

Leave a Reply

