My Thoughts About Dwellers by Eliza Victoria (Book Review #12)

image

A gem of a book. Thrilling and to the point.

This book was written by Filipino author Eliza Victoria.

The book is about two cousins who are “dwellers”, which means that they can reside over another body that they choose.

Their lives follow three rules:
Rule No. 1: You don’t kill the body you inhabit.
Rule No. 2: You should never again mention your previous name.
Rule No. 3: You don’t ever talk about your previous life. Ever.

The story starts with them inhabiting the bodies of two brothers, Jonah and Louis, without them knowing how dark the past of the two brothers are. They settled on the latter’s house and after a couple of days they found a dead body of a girl in the basement.

During the first couple of pages, the storyline was quite confusing for me. And I thought I won’t be able to enjoy it. But after a couple more pages the action and thrill started. I can’t dropped the book down. The plot was intense as with the characters involved. I like how the author was able to sew two stories in the book and how they were intertwined. The story of the girl in the basement was made in a dramatic way and the story of the two twins were made in a so dark manner that I didn’t see it coming.

The whole novel was so intriguing and it kept me thinking all throughtout while I was reading it. I pity the characters, how they were trapped in their worlds that they do not like and how they want to come out of that world but they can’t and the only way that they can think is to do the unthinkable.

I also like the vivid description of the scenes and how the writing was made so simple. The author was also clever enough to add semi-abstract pictures on the book which I liked and appreciated. It made the novel even more intense.

image

And the one thing that I totally enjoyed on the book was its element of excitement. You never know what happens until you flip the next page. It will keep you guessing. The author satisfied me with its pacing as unlike other novels who just piles and piles alot of things and unnecessary stories on the novel to just make it thicker and longer. The novel is short, which is perfectly fine, that made the story not dragging at all.

The novel has alot of potential for me to have its sequel or even become a series. The story has alot of characters whose stories can become a starting ground for a new novel. Celeste, for instance, for me was presented for in a way that I won’t be able to forget her. Her character was so strong that the amount of story given to her for me is not enough. I would definitely be buying Dwellers 2 if their will be one.

This is the first novel by a Filipino author written in the English language that I read. I pity my self for that. I thank this novel, for this kept me wanting more and explore Filipino literature.

This is a must read and I totally recommend it.

Easy 5/5 stars for me.

“If a life is defined by how it ends, then no life has meaning because every life ends with nothing. So the goal, is not to be rich or to help the planet or to help other people, but to live NOW. To find joy NOW. We are infinitesimal. We are too smal and our lives are too brief to make a difference. There’s no use making ourselves believe otherwise.”

image

My copy of the book.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts About Dwellers by Eliza Victoria (Book Review #12)

Leave a Reply

