My Thoughts About The Color Purple by Alice Walker (Book Review #20)

image

Speechless. Speechless. Speechless.

Brilliant. A masterpiece.

This book won both the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and National Book Award for Fiction in 1983.  First of all, let me say that I love the cover of the book. Yes, I know that it’s just a sunflower but I don’t know as soon as I saw that this book is being read by my former workmate before, I immediately fell in love with the cover. Maybe it’s the harmony of the cover design and the text style. I’ve been meaning to read this book but it’s always being dragged because I want to read it with the cover that I want.Then finally, I saw the cover that I want and I  immediately grabbed it from the shelf. It now sits at the sidetable of my bed. That’s how I love this book and after reading it, my love for it even more plumetted. The book is epic.

“I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don’t notice it. People think pleasing God is all God cares about. But any foolliving in the world can see it always trying to please us back.”-Alice Walker, The Color Purple 

I can say that reading the book is like riding a roller coaster of emotions. Splendid it is! The book is about Celie from Georgia, who among all the books that I read so far has the “worst” background and experience in life. The family where she came from is poor. She was uneducated. She was raped at the age of 14 by his father and bore a child. Then she lose her sister, Nettie, whom she is very close with. Then she was force to marry “Mister”, a man who doesn’t treat her right and whom she doesn’t love. Celie was at that point lost with the world and just goes with how each day will direct her. Only then when she meet them singer Shug, the person she met with the strongest personality she and learning that her sisteris alive that she started to fight the forces that continue to haunt her at present.

What I like most about the book is its sincerity and truthfulness in telling a story. I like how the author gave a voice to those oppressed during the first decades of the 20th century. I like how to the point the statements are and how the author was able to provide characters that really personified what the book and theme is asking.

The characterization is also something that is worth applauding about this book. The author made sure that the characters are solid and well-developed. Each were presented with a background making the readers understand them even more.

“The more I wonder, the more I love.”-Alice Walker, The Color Purple 

The book’s premise is primarily about acceptance. Accepting things that one can no longer change, accepting people that have wronged you and accepting and believing that the future will always be bright.

The book is written in epistolary form. An epistolary novel is a novel written as a series of documents. For this book,it is written through letters. Two-thirds of the book, Celie is writing to God about her struggles. I liked that the writing was very bold and to the point avoiding that dragging feeling. The storytelling gave much feeling to the book that it required.

The book is also not only about black people, especially women, being oppressed but also tackled other social topics about religion, family and gender culture on that period of time. And despite discussing alot of topics, the author was able to coagulate all of them in a single book without loose ends.

“Everything want to be loved. Us sing and dance and holler, just trying to be loved.”-Alice Walker, The Color Purple

Celie was just a lovable character. I like how innocent she was at first but at the end, with the help of her frined Shug, she learned to fight. I love her way of dealing with all the sexual, physical and verbal abuses he had gone through. Despite all what happened she still showed love to those that wronged him. Love that is sincere and true. This book also teaches people to always remain optimistic and resilient whatever the situation is and to hope.

I like, how at the ending, I felt that I was Celie. It was like I’ve experienced someone else’s life. How the author made me feel so relieved that at last the sheep that was lost had been found. And with all the hardship the main protagonist had gone through, the author made the readers feel triumphant and celebrate with the characters at the ending. The characters were like real. This book is just one of those books that you’ll unknowingly hug after you finished reading it. That’s how authentic and flawless the writing is.

Super recommended to those who wants to get a good read about feminism, especially on the topic of overcoming abuse.

Heads up to those who wants to read the book: it contains violent sexual content and language. (I didn’t mind it though because I was totally gripped by the book. 😉 )

“I believe God is everything, say Shug. Everything that is or ever was or ever will be. And when you can feel that, and be happy to feel that, you’ve found it.”-Alice Walker, The Color Purple

After finishing then book I later learned that the book was made into a movie. I’ll definitely go check it out too. The book really hit me.

5/5

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts About The Color Purple by Alice Walker (Book Review #20)

Leave a Reply

