My Thoughts About Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Book Review #34)

An easy 5 stars out of 5. Insurgent is the second book in the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. This book lived up to the hype of its predecessor.

1622678_1084504438231367_5776311498521842988_n
I like how the Insurgent picked up immediately where Divergent ended and had that continuity. I read Divergent last year and I had doubts if I won’t understand anything that is happening while reading the book. But luckily I was wrong, aside from me reintroducing myself to some of the characters left, I had no issues with familiarizing myself with the world. The book was able to pick up the action that Divergent left.

Insurgent is the second installment in the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth which follows Tris and some of her friends after the attack by the simulation-controlled Dauntless controlled by the Erudites. We follow Tris as she try to balance the conflict between policies, beliefs and interests with the ensuing war that is about to happen among the factions.

The book is about the choices that Tris must make. It is either to follow what the majority wants, that is to install a new form of regime where the factions will all be removed but will eventually destroy the answers about the questions she know she should know or to betray the people she love and seek for that answer for she believed that knowing that will eventually lead to the peace that everyone wants.

We also follow here how Tris and Four’s relationship is tested. With both having trust and communication issues. I like how the author was able to pull it off with not appearing like a book of whines and complaints. I was able to appreciate the personalities that they portrayed in the scenes which made it very realistic. I also like how their love story did not overwhelm the story. I like how it focused on the struggle of each of the characters to know the truth rather than focusing on Tris relationship with Four.

I like how the the author presented the depth of Tris in this book. We follow Tris as she tries to be in terms with the death of her parents and her killing her friend Will. We follow her as her guilt and regret tried to haunt her and how she was able to let it out. Her character development sprang up from one who just accepts everything to someone who stands for something and fights for what he believes even if it’s against her love one’s will. The book solidified the fact that Tris is a stronghead character. Not because she’s a Divergent but because she’s embracing her weaknesses and eventually uses it for her benefit. She’s a strong character but she also has the humility which makes her a good leader. Aside from Tris, the book also gave depth to other characters. I was able to see the other facets of Four. That he could also show some emotions and not just being aloof. I was also able to appreciate how Roth made Four grow as a character. I like how this second book is more realistic in terms of characterization compared to Divergent. It made me feel and connect more to the characters.

I also like how the other factions, the Amity and Candor, were also given the spotlight unlike in Divergent where the spotlight was given to Abnegation, Dauntless and Erudite. The book gave me a glimpse of the faction’s issues and flaws of each faction with their beliefs and principles.

The author proved how a good writer she is. She showed intelligent writing all throughout the book. She presented a strong plot twist that I didn’t see coming. The book has good pacing and well planned scenes so as not to bore or make the story be dragging. The author played with words very well. I didn’t feel so bored while reading because the book had me on my seat while I was reading it. It has more exciting and grip-your-seat scenes. This book got me thinking who really are the good and bad guys and who really should I believe in. Who I think should Tris be allied to and who are her enemies. And the ending was just totally mind-blowing! I can’t wait to get my hands on the last book in the series. I can’t find any flaw on this book.

The book has got me thinking as to the future of our society. How in the future, we might have this kind of system where the people will be divided based on their beliefs and how each approach a scenario instead of just trying to be one and try to find a common solution for the pressing problems. The book presented a society that is where we are headed. Well in a way, just remove the factions, it is already the society where we are right now. Good for them that they have a system that they follow and they acknowledged the reality that their world will be better if each will be divided like how they are divided. But for us, a group of people living in one place where each has its own beliefs and approaches. Soon, if worse comes to worst, havoc will surely ensue. The book has this premise about our differences as a society and how we should always try to mend those gaps and always show understanding to preserve the peace that we are enjoying now.

The book also has this them about how we should know whom to trust, be mindful with our decisions and actions, and speak for ourselves.

Overall, this book is so worth the read. 5 stars out of 5.

“People, I have discovered, are layers and layers of secrets. You believe you know them, that you understand them, but their motives are always hidden from you, buried in their own hearts. You will never know them, but sometimes you decide to trust them.”
Veronica Roth, Insurgent

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts About Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Book Review #34)

Leave a Reply

