Blog Feature: Book Quotes (My Top 10 Best Quotes from Haruki Murakami)

You all know how I adore and love Haruki Murakami’s writing. If I were to describe the reading experience when I read his works, it will be: MAGICAL. I only have read three of his works, Norwegian Wood, Kafka on the Shore and Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. I am planing to read more from him this year. I searched the web for quotes to use and I not amusing that there are really a lot. With that, I trimmed it to ten and for the criteria, I chose the quotes that I can connect and relate to.

Haruki Murakami (age 67) is an award-winning contemporary Japanese writer and translator. Born in Kyoto, Japan and now currently living in the US, his fiction and non-fiction works has been translated into more than 50 languages and have been published in millions and one of his works, Norwegian Wood, was adapted into a movie in 2010. Murakami’s first novel, Hear the Wind Sing, published in 1979 received the Gunzou Shinjin Sho (Gunzo New Writer Award). Some of the most recent awards that he received includes World Fantasy Award (2006) and the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award (2006), Franz Kafka Prize (2006), Jerusalem Prize (2009), Welt-Literaturpreis (2014) and the Danish Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award (2015). In April 2015, he was named one of the TIME 100’s most influential people. Some of his major influencers in his wiriting includes Franz Kafka, William Shakespeare, Fyodor Dostoevsky and J.D. Salinger among others.

1

I was inspired to do this when I saw Stay Bookish‘s Quote Book blog posts wherein she creates picture quotes from his favorite authors and books. And what better way to start my own than starting from one of my most favorite author, Haruki Murakami.

So in no particular order, let’s begin. πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy it.

2

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.”
Haruki Murakami
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, 2007

11

“No mistake about it. Ice is cold; roses are red; I’m in love. And this love is about to carry me off somewhere. The current’s too overpowering; I don’t have any choice. It may very well be a special place, some place I’ve never seen before.”
Haruki Murakami
Sputnik Sweetheart, 1999

12

“But the absence of fighting or hatred or desire also means the opposites do not exist either. No joy, no communion, no love. Only where there is disillusionment and depression and sorrow does happiness arise; without the despair of loss, there is no hope.”
Haruki Murakami
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, 1985

7

“Silence, I discover, is something you can actually hear.”
Haruki Murakami
Kafka on the Shore, 2002

10

“The human heart is like a night bird. Silently waiting for something, and when the time comes, it flies straight toward it.”
Haruki Murakami
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, 2013

4

“Despite your best efforts, people are going to be hurt when it’s time for them to be hurt.”
Haruki Murakami
Norwegian Wood, 1987

2sds

β€œIf you remember me, then I don’t care if everyone else forgets.”
Haruki Murakami
Kafka on the Shore, 2002

13

“I sometimes think that people’s hearts are like deep wells. Nobody knows what’s at the bottom. All you can do is imagine by what comes floating to the surface every once in a while.”
Haruki Murakami
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman, 2006

14

“What we call the present is given shape by an accumulation of the past.”
Haruki Murakami
IQ84, 2009

17

“Spend your money on the things money can buy. Spend your time on the things money can’t buy.”
Haruki Murakami
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, 1994

And that’s it, I hope you enjoyed my very first Book Quotes feature. πŸ™‚ I am planning to put up a part 2 for Haruki Murakami because, I know, I missed out a lot other good quotes by him, but let’s see. πŸ™‚

What books from Haruki Murakami have you read and enjoyed? What quotes can you recommend me to put on my second Book Quotes feature for him? And if in case I’ll be choosing another author, any recommendations? πŸ™‚

Any thoughts about my blog feature? I’m open for suggestions. πŸ™‚ Let me know your thoughts. πŸ™‚

3

11 thoughts on “Blog Feature: Book Quotes (My Top 10 Best Quotes from Haruki Murakami)

  1. What a clever and creative article! Honestly, I always long to read Murakami’s books since I hear positive feedback on them.I still can’t afford them at NBS although their PDFs are available in the internet. Real books are more sensuous than e-books. ^^

    Like

    1. Indeed, his books are a little bit more pricey than other authors that’s why I am always on the lookout for book sales. Hahah And I also frequent book selling FB groups and online stores that sell cheap second-hand books. πŸ™‚
      I couldn’t agree more. Physical books are way better than ebooks. Specially for books by my favorite authors. πŸ™‚
      I am really looking forward for your first Murakami novel. I recommend you to read Kafka on the Shore first. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, I read his Hear the Wind Sing which did not satisfy me much. But still I want to try his other works since he is an immortal writer. No wonder I’ve just realized that probably I can’t find his books at Book Sale outlets.
        Surely, I will.
        Thanks for the recommendation, Murakamian! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

