Book to Movie Review: Me Before You

So I was able to finally watch Me Before You! The movie was released here in the Philippines 12 days behind the US release date and it was both a good thing and bad thing basically. Good thing because I was given more time to finish the book (I finished the book June 5th) and bad thing because it’s an agony reading and watching movie reviews without you not being able to participate in the discussions.

Me Before You movie poster
Me Before You movie poster

Running time: 1h 50mins
Genre: Drama, Romance
Director: Thea Sharrock
Release Date: 3 June 2016 (USA)
Writers: Jojo Moyes (screenplay), Jojo Moyes (novel)
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures

Movie Synopsis:
Louisa “Lou” Clark (Clarke) lives in a quaint town in the English countryside. With no clear direction in her life, the quirky and creative 26-year-old goes from one job to the next in order to help her tight-knit family make ends meet. Her normally cheery outlook is put to the test, however, when she faces her newest career challenge. Taking a job at the local “castle,” she becomes caregiver and companion to Will Traynor (Claflin), a wealthy young banker who became wheelchair bound in an accident two years prior, and whose whole world changed dramatically in the blink of an eye. No longer the adventurous soul he once was, the now cynical Will has all but given up. That is until Lou determines to show him that life is worth living. Embarking together on a series of adventures, both Lou and Will get more than they bargained for, and find their lives—and hearts—changing in ways neither one could have imagined. (mebeforeyoumovie.com)

My Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Best Quotes/Lines from the Book Feature: Book Quotes from Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

 

Image courtesy of Warner Bros.
Image courtesy of Warner Bros.

My Movie Review:

I like how the movie stayed true to the book’s plot line. Well, it helped the that Jojo Moyes was the one who wrote the screenplay. It was very imminent that Moyes was so much involved in the making of the movie. There were just some parts in the book though that could’ve been added on the movie to give it a more depth to the movie’s story. Like for instance, explaining why Lou, a girl full of energy and curiosity, decided to stay in a small town, limiting her growth. And the reason for her out-of-this-world wardrobe choices: colorful and playful patterns mixed together matched with outlandish footwear with her queer hairdos. Her, being sexually assaulted, could have been added, even just a line about it in the movie, to better explain how her outlook in life and her personality changed. And also, a little explanation about Will’s condition could have made people understand more his situation that would’ve given the movie more depth.

One thing I like that the author no longer included in the movie was Will’s father’s love affair with another woman. Although Will’s parents relationship is obviously a little bit tipsy in the movie because of Will’s decision, by removing the love affair part, I felt more grief from Will’s parents and their helplessness towards their son’s condition and their acceptance for Will’s decision. I feel like if it was added to the story line, it might become a distraction to the main plot line.

1

Another thing that I also did not appreciate with the movie was how fast paced it was. For a movie like Me Before You which should have invested more on the emotional parts, I expected that some of the emotional scenes would have warranted more frames and time. But instead, when I was starting to emotionally connect to a scene the frame will just rapidly move to a new scene.

Me Before You book cover
Me Before You book cover

And so for the things that I liked about the movie. I like how the movie’s choice of main casts. The casts were almost all from some of the biggest movie and TV series franchises. There’s someone from the Game of Thrones (Emilia Clarke (Daenerys Targaryen) as Louisa Clarke and Charles Dance (Tywin Lannister) as Stephen Traynor, Will’s father), The Hunger Games (Sam Claflin (Finnick Odair) as Will Traynor), Doctor Who (Jenna Coleman (Clara Oswald) as Louisa’s sister Katrina) and from Harry Potter (Matthew Lewis (Neville Longbottom) as Louisa’s boyfriend, Patrick). Prior to watching the movie, I have already expected (and remained positive) that they will do great and yes, I was not wrong. Sam Claflin and Emilia Clarke really has chemistry that worked for me well. They are charming. Their acting without a doubt is so spot on and I could not think of any actors who could’ve given more justice that what the two did. There was no part that they tried to outdo one another and their acting was just enough to merit what emotion is required from a scene. They made me even love the book’s characters more. (The scene that shows Lou receiving the bumblebee tights as a birthday gift from Will was so hilarious! :D)

The best thing that I enjoyed with the movie is it’s soundtrack. Ed Sheeran songs baby! The songs really punched strong blows on my emotions. The best part for me especially was when Lou and Will attended the wedding party of Will’s ex-girlfriend and Lou invited Will for a dance then the song Photograph began playing. Loving can hurt, loving can hurt sometimes Feels!

2

In terms of what turned out to be the more heart-wrenching. I say that it’s still the book. Taking into consideration that the movie really can’t fit in everything from the book, I must say though that the movie still did a pretty good job. The movie was able to successfully deliver the message about accepting the choices that people make and that there’s always a limit on how we can influence other people’s opinions. 🙂 The movie is hilarious when needed be and emotionally moving at some point (especially when Ed Sheeran songs begin playing).

I suggest you to read the book first before watching the movie to better appreciate the story. I guess, I will re-read the book with some Ed Sheeran songs in the background. 😉

Verdict: 4/5

Have yo aready watched the movie? What are your thoughts about? Let me know your thoughts. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book to Movie Review: Me Before You

  1. I was so shocked that Matthew Lewis was in this; I literally had not idea when I saw the previews 50 times. I also really loved the actors they decided for the cast (it’s amazing they have like a fantasy trifecta in there with HP, THG, and GoT, haha) and the story was actually true to the book… Yet, I still was slightly disappointing. You’re right, it was really fast paced and I didn’t feel as emotionally connected as when I read the book. Also, the breakup scene between Lou/Patrick was abrupt. My friends (they hadn’t read the book) were really confused… Anyway, great review, Mark!

    Like

  2. I haven’t watched the movie yet. But I’ve read the book last year after reading All The Bright Places. So you see, it is deliberate I haven’t watched the movie yet. It is pure torture to see… because the ending.
    But to be honest, I have love-hate relationship with Me before You. It such a good book but I’m not sure if I can recommend it to people who suffers from depression. And for me, a book/movie should encourage hope and life. But this didn’t. Then, I love it because it is true, it is what real life is about, depression is such an underrated illness that people thought it is just an emotion but they don’t see it as an illness, as something to cure. Will is too hopeless that love cannot conquer his hopelessness.
    Nice review… maybe I’ll watch it because of Ed Sheeran… Hmmm…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have some good points specially with the depression part. I agree with you on that. 🙂
      The book is too slow for me while the movie is very fast paced, so if I were to choose better read the book and watch the movie too. 😀
      Using Ed Sheeran songs really worked well with the movie. You should definitely watch it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

