Book to Movie Review: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl + Before I Go To Sleep

I was in no mood of reading this weekend so I decided to look for movies that were based from books. I am happy I did enjoy both. πŸ™‚

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl

me_and_earl_and_the_dying_girlRunning time: 1h 45mins
Genre: Comedy, Drama
Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon
Stars: Thomas Mann, RJ Cyler, Olivia Cooke
Release Date: 1 July 2015 (USA)
Writers: Jesse Andrews (novel), Jesse Andrews (screenplay)
Distributed by: Fox Searchlight Pictures

Movie Synopsis: High schooler Greg, who spends most of his time making parodies of classic movies with his co-worker Earl, finds his outlook forever altered after befriending a classmate who has just been diagnosed with cancer. (imdb.com)

My Book Review: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

My Movie Review

You all know how I love the book so I don’t know why it took me time to finally be able to watch the film adaptation. I cried. Like The Fault in our Stars cry.

The story of three teenage misfits, Greg (Thomas Mann), Earl (RJ Cyler) and Rachel (Olivia Cooke), living thru adolescent life, school and home pressures, of love and death that was masterfully crafted. I was all the while expecting that I will laugh most of the time like what I did when I read the book but that did not happen. The movie still has the laugh-till-you-can-no-longer-breath scenes but what’s memorable with the books is it’s amazing examination of life and how unexpected moments and unexpected people in our lives can touch us in parts that we did not even imagine.

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl Book Cover
Me, Earl and the Dying Girl Book Cover

I know where the story will lead but I was all throughout hoping that it won’t end the book ended. Greg was forced by her mom to befriend Rachel who was diagnosed with leukemia. From their, their relationship grew from being awkward to relaxed. Greg and Rachel’s relationship became so heart-warming that I was always looking forward for their scenes together even if they do not do anything productive but just talk and watch the movies that Greg and Earl made. Their moments together became so intimate that it felt so wrong to hear what they’re talking about. Their relationship grew from individuals who doesn’t know each other and was forced to meet to a relationship that truly cares for each other despite the fact that they know that it will be short-lived. From the point where no one seemed to care for what each other say to the point where they eventually began valuing each other made the book so compelling. The ending scene where Greg was standing at Rachel’s room remembering their moments is just totally heart-wrenching.

The book’s humor was toned down in the movie adaptation. It has this serene type of vibe that lulls you in like it did to me. The casts heartfelt portrayal of their roles made the book even more memorable. Unlike the book, there was not so much interaction between Greag and Earl aside from the part where it was explained that they enjoy creating silly movie remakes (like A Sockwork Orange) and the one at the end where they are creating a movie for Rachel. But their friendship is not something that needs proof to be believed at. Their actions towards each other speaks more than just saying it in the script. I like how the relationships in the movie did not appear as forced but poignant and raw.

It’s no surprise that this movie got a lot of praises at last year’s Sundance Film Festival.

Verdict: 5 stars out of 5

canva1

Before I Go To Sleep

before-i-go-to-sleep-poster1Running time: 1h 32mins
Genre: Drama, Mystery, Thriller
Director: Rowan Joffe
Stars: Nicole Kidman, Colin Firth, Mark Strong
Release Date:Β  31 October 2014 (USA)
Writers: Rowan Joffe (screenplay), S.J. Watson (novel)
Distributed by: Clarius Entertainment and 20th Century Fox

Movie Synopsis: A woman wakes up everyday, remembering nothing as a result of a traumatic accident in her past. One day, new terrifying truths emerge that force her to question everyone around her. (imdb.com)

My Book Review: Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

My Movie Review

The book’s premise is still clear to me despite reading it last year and before watching the movie adaptation, I was very excited with how the movie will be presented. I was totally surprised to find the movie to be so totally immersing. It’s a one hour and 32 minutes movie that has all the ingredients of the book that really worked wonders with me.

Before I Go To Sleep Book Cover
Before I Go To Sleep Book Cover

The movie may be shorter than a typical one but I was very satisfied with it. A story of a forty-year-old woman, Christine Lucas (Nicole Kidman), who suffers from a post-traumatic amnesia, which makes her to wake up every morning not knowing what happened to her the previous day after an attacked that almost got her killed. She needs to be reminded everyday of who she is and where she’s at. Her husband, Ben (Colin Firth), recounts to her everyday that he’s her husband, what he do for a living and their previous life. Their house became a house of sticky notes and photographs to remind Christine of things that she needs to remember and do everyday.

The plot thickens when Christine meets a psychiatrist, Dr. Nasch (Mark Strong), who acknowledged Christine’s condition as rare and decided to help her. Everyday he calls her, introduce himself and reminds her of their meetup. He told her to keep a camera where she can record her day, hide it away in a closet after, that Dr. Nasch uses to make Christine believe, when he calls everyday, that they know each other. Christine learned a lot more than what Ben is telling her. Questions arose and she began doubting Ben’s statements and stories about her past. When Ben learned about their meetings and secrets were revealed, Christine was caught off guard causing her to be almost on the same situation that almost killed her and made her lost her memory.

Something that is plausible about this short movie was how it made the story very concise without leaving out important details and scenes from the book. The characters acted convincingly and overall satisfying. The scenes leading to the facts about Christine’s past, became very exciting. How the scenes escalated towards the ending became so dramatic that really left me at the edge of my seat.

I was half expecting that, considering the flow of the story in the book, some parts of the movie may become a little too boring but I was wrong. It moved at a very fast-paced but it took into consideration the non-readers of the book who may not know the story. The movie’s drama, suspense and thrill was well-balanced that even if it’s short, it’s so satisfying.

Verdict: 4 stars out of 5

canva2

Have you watched both movies too? Read the books? Let me know your thoughts. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Book to Movie Review: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl + Before I Go To Sleep

  1. I first watched the movie Before I Go To Sleep ages ago that I know I’ve watched it but couldn’t recall a single thing about it aside from the amnesia thing until I decided to read the book around the first week of this month. The book was great, I totally liked it. There were parts that it was gripping and I remember holding my breath from thrill and suspense, so the book was a really big thumbs up. After reading the book, I watched the movie and I liked it as well but maybe I was still too immersed and absorbed with the book that while watching I can pinpoint the slight alterations that they did in the movie and that I very much know what will happen next but it was still a good movie though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a huge fan of Colin Firth I went to see the movie and I can’t say I was disappointed. I was a little bit annoyed in the beginning when the scenes kept repeating but I really enjoyed the film.
    Really liked your reviews on both films πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

