6 Book-to-Movie Adaptations that I’m Excited to Watch this Second Half of 2016

Book to movie reviews are now becoming a thing here in my blog. I was not a fan of movies being adapted from books previously but as time goes by, I slowly appreciated it. It no longer became just about comparing the book from the movie. There’s really something about being able to see the book that you loved and enjoyed into the big screen. Yes, it’s a mix of hits and misses but that’s the thrill of it.

The second half of 2016 is filled with a lot of book to movie adaptations that I can’t wait to watch. Here are the six that I am very excited about. 🙂

MV5BMjI5MjI4NTEzOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjM2Nzg3NzE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_The BFG

Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy
Director: Steven Spielberg
Stars: Mark Rylance, Ruby Barnhill, Penelope Wilton
Release Date: 1 July 2016 (USA)
Writers: Melissa Mathison (screenplay), Roald Dahl (novel)

Movie Synopsis: A girl named Sophie encounters the Big Friendly Giant who, despite his intimidating appearance, turns out to be a kind-hearted soul who is considered an outcast by the other giants because, unlike them, he refuses to eat children. (imdb.com)

I read the book 2 years ago and I remember it as a cute and funny story of an unlikely friendship. I’m looking forward to see how it will play out in the big screen. The movie actually opens today here in the Philippines. I’ll try to re-read the book again before watching the movie and have my review on it. 🙂

The BFG Movie Trailer:

MV5BMTg4MTYwMzAyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDIxODAyOTE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_A Monster Calls

Genre: Drama, Fantasy
Director: J.A. Bayona
Stars: Felicity Jones, Liam Neeson, Toby Kebbell
Release Date: 21 October 2016 (USA)
Writers: Patrick Ness (novel)

Movie Synopsis: A boy seeks the help of a tree monster to cope with his single mom’s terminal illness. (imdb.com)

My Book Review: A Monster Calls

All the feels! That’s all I can say with this book. In short, READ IT!

A Monster Calls Movie Trailer:

MV5BNDU3MDk4NjE1MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODk5MTc0OTE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,631,1000_AL_The Girl on the Train

Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Director: Tate Taylor
Stars: Emily Blunt, Haley Bennett, Laura Prepon
Release Date: 7 October 2016 (USA)
Writers: Paula Hawkins (novel), Erin Cressida Wilson (adaptation)

Movie Synopsis: The Girl on the Train is the story of Rachel Watson’s life post-divorce. Every day, she takes the train in to work in London, and every day the train passes by her old house. The house she lived in with her husband, who still lives there, with his new wife and child. As she attempts to not focus on her pain, she starts watching a couple who live a few houses down — Megan and Scott Hipwell. She creates a wonderful dream life for them in her head, about how they are a perfect happy family. And then one day, as the train passes, she sees something shocking, filling her with rage. The next day, she wakes up with a horrible hangover, various wounds and bruises, and no memory of the night before. She has only a feeling: something bad happened. Then come the TV reports: Megan Hipwell is missing. Rachel becomes invested in the case and trying to find out what happened to Megan, where she is, and what exactly she herself was up to that same night Megan went missing. (imdb.com)

My Book Review: The Girl on the Train

This book left me so intrigued when I read it last year. I wonder if the movie will have that same effect on me.

The Girl on the Train Movie Trailer:

MV5BMjIwMjUyODExOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjE0NDM4ODE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_Inferno

Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Director: Ron Howard
Stars: Tom Hanks, Felicity Jones, Ben Foster
Release Date: 28 October 2016 (USA)
Writers: Dan Brown (novel) David Koepp (screenplay and adaptation)

Movie Synopsis: When Robert Langdon wakes up in an Italian hospital with amnesia, he teams up with Dr. Sienna Brooks, and together they must race across Europe against the clock to foil a deadly global plot. (imdb.com)

I haven’t read the book yet but I have watched the previous two movies based from Dan Brown’s novels, Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code. Looking forward for adrenaline-pumping and and mystery-filled story.

Inferno Movie Trailer:

MV5BMjQyMzIyMTY5NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDA0Mjk0NzE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy
Director: David Yates
Stars: Ezra Miller, Eddie Redmayne, Colin Farrell
Release Date: 18 November 2016 (USA)
Writers: J.K. Rowling, J.K. Rowling (novel)

Movie Synopsis: The adventures of writer Newt Scamander in New York’s secret community of witches and wizards seventy years before Harry Potter reads his book in school. (imdb.com)

Who won’t include this one in the list? I’ve only read the first book in the Harry Potter series and the most recent one, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (I know it’s a shame) but I’ve already watched all the eight movie adaptations of the series. I know that’s not an excuse that’s why I am really looking forward to reading the other books this year.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie Trailer:

MV5BMTA1NDg2MzM5NDleQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDA5OTg5MTkx._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy
Director: Tim Burton
Stars: Eva Green, Allison Janney, Samuel L. Jackson
Release Date: 30 September 2016 (USA)
Writers: Jane Goldman (screenplay), Ransom Riggs (novel)

Movie Synopsis: When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that spans different worlds and times, he finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the mystery and danger deepen as he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers. (imdb.com)

My Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel

This is the book to movie adaptation that I am most excited about. The one in charge of promoting the movie, I must say, is doing a great job. They have this cool moving character movie posters among others. Despite all the changes that they’ll do on the movie, I am still excited about it.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Movie Trailer:

What movie/s from above are you also excited about to watch? Let me know your thoughts. 🙂

12 thoughts on “6 Book-to-Movie Adaptations that I’m Excited to Watch this Second Half of 2016

  1. I have a lot of hope for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Pecular Children, and I’m starting to think that the movie version might be better than the book version since I’ll be able to see all the action and paranormality take place. Also super excited for Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and The Girl on the Train! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually excited for Miss Peregrine’s. It looks like it’s taking a much lighter approach than the book but I really like Asa Butterfield as an actor so we’ll see. I should really read Girl on the Train but I feel like I’m going to disappointed but Emily Blunt is such a great actress..decisions. decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

