My Thoughts About The BFG + The Twits by Roald Dahl (Book Review #112)

With the release of the movie The BFG, I decided to read the book where it was based. It’s actually a re-read since I already read the book way back 2014. After finishing it, my thoughts about the book did not change because I still enjoyed it. So in celebration of the movie’s release, I am posting my review of the book. And since the book is quite short, I also decided to add my review ofΒ The Twits, which is also by Roald Dahl. The BFG and The Twits are actually the first books by Roald Dahl that I read. πŸ™‚

The BFG

BFGThe story follows the adventure of an orphan girl named Sophie and the 24 ft tall Big Friendly Giant, or the BFG.

The BFG’s work is to visit different houses and blow good dreams to children. One night, Sophie caught him moving between houses and noticing that, the BFG took her with him to the land of the giants. The BFG kidnapped her because he believes that if Sophie tells anyone she has seen a giant, the world will be thrown into chaos and the BFG will be captured and put into a zoo. Different to what she expected of being eaten, the BFG is a good giant who doesn’t know how to do any harm. In contrast, outside the cave where the BFG lives, there are nine taller(some are more than twice his height) and mean giants who gallops the world every night to eat human beings. The story then narrated how the two created a team to stop the wrongdoings of the mean giants.

What I like:

The book is full of witty characters. They are all likeable. I sensed how the author wanted to have the characters be real and felt and he was successful in doing so. Despite being a short read and fast paced, the author was able to make the characters grow and give them personalities that gave the book the warmth.

I like how the scenes became like so real. I like how the author was able to present the story with the right amount of violence and funny scenes making it an honest read.

I like how the author played with words. I like how the giants talk using made up words (the incorrect use of grammar and language) and how he named the mean giants (The Fleshlumpeater, The Bonecruncher, The Manhugger, The Childchewer, The Meatdripper, The Gizzardgulper, The Maidmasher, The Bloodbottler and The Butcher Boy.) I’m amaze how creactive the author is. The book is full of humor.

β€œWords,” the BFG said, “is oh such a twitch-tickling problem to me all my life.”

The theme of the story is friendship and I like how the author pulled it through. I like how it discussed accepting who you are and to be yourself all the time and not to judge others because they are different but rather appreciate the uniqueness of everyone.

The illustrations by Quentin Blake made me even more appreciate the book and made it more engaging. It is imaginative and delightful.

What I don’t like:

NOTHING. I JUST WISH IT COULD BE LONGER.

Being my first Roald Dahl read, the book didn’t disappoint me. His storytelling is immensely powerful and honest. It made me even more crave for Other Roald Dahl books.

4 stars out of 5.

CaptureQ1

BOOK SPECIFICATIONS:

Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Format: Paperback
Part of a Series: No
Release date: 2001
Publisher: Puffin Books
No. of Pages: 195 pages

The Twits

TWITSThis book is about Mr and Mrs Twits and the terrible things they do to each others and to like every other living thing around them – they terrorize their pet monkeys, the birds that perch on the tree on their yard and the children in their neighborhood.

Th twits are “ugly” (as what the book described) inside and out. The story advised that it was their negativity towards life that made them even uglier.

The book is very short. I read it in just one sitting. It’s comedic in nature as how I assume Raald Dahl always writes. It’s amusing in a way that despite being a very thin book it is packed with amusing things and thoughts to ponder upon.

The book can be divided into two parts. The first being the mischievous things the two do to each other without the other knowing like hiding an artificial in the other’s beer mug, adding worms in the other’s serving of spaghetti and playing up with the other’s cane then eventually telling the other that she is shrinking. Then the second part is about the vengeance that the animals around them plotted to avenge the wrongdoings that they did to them.

I like the book. Compact and short but it made sense. The illustrations on the book also are an added treat to the book. Quentin Blake and Roald Dahl really are a good tandem.

Basically, the morale of the story is that what we think and do reflects the aura that people see around us.

4 stars out of 5.

Q2

BOOK SPECIFICATIONS:

Author: Roald Dahl, Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Format: Paperback
Part of a Series: No
Release date: 2004
Publisher: Puffin Books
No. of Pages: 96 pages

What books by Roald Dahl have you read and enjoyed? Have you already watched The BFG The Movie? What are your thoughts about it? Let me know your thoghts. πŸ™‚Β 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Roald_DahlRoald Dahl was a British novelist, short story writer and screenwriter of Norwegian descent, who rose to prominence in the 1940’s with works for both children and adults, and became one of the world’s bestselling authors.

Dahl’s first published work, inspired by a meeting with C. S. Forester, was Shot Down Over Libya. Today the story is published as “A Piece of Cake”. The story, about his wartime adventures, was bought by the Saturday Evening Post for $900, and propelled him into a career as a writer. Its title was inspired by a highly inaccurate and sensationalized article about the crash that blinded him, which claimed he had been shot down instead of simply having to land because of low fuel.

His first children’s book was The Gremlins, about mischievous little creatures that were part of RAF folklore. The book was commissioned by Walt Disney for a film that was never made, and published in 1943. Dahl went on to create some of the best-loved children’s stories of the 20th century, such as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda and James and the Giant Peach.

He also had a successful parallel career as the writer of macabre adult short stories, usually with a dark sense of humour and a surprise ending. Many were originally written for American magazines such as Ladies Home Journal, Harper’s, Playboy and The New Yorker, then subsequently collected by Dahl into anthologies, gaining world-wide acclaim. Dahl wrote more than 60 short stories and they have appeared in numerous collections, some only being published in book form after his death. His stories also brought him three Edgar Awards: in 1954, for the collection Someone Like You; in 1959, for the story The Landlady; and in 1980, for the episode of Tales of the Unexpected based on “Skin”.Β (Photo and About the Author courtesy of Goodreads)

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts About The BFG + The Twits by Roald Dahl (Book Review #112)

  1. I really liked The Twits and it remains to this day one of my favourite Dahl stories. However,
    I couldn’t get my head around the BFG. I don’t even think I finished it. I can’t pinpoint exactly, but I just didn’t like it, and it’s unusual to see so much hype for the movie adaptation too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

