August 2016 Wrap Up

Hello there September! Sadly, August did not turn out the way I planned it. I only managed to read one book by a local author for the #BuwanNgMgaAkdangPinoy activity and I was not able to attend Adam Johnson’s book signing event because of work. But despite that, I must say that August was still quite good month for me specially in terms of reading and book hauling. I consider this month as one of my best reading months this year and I also managed to score good books at the Books For Less Warehouse Sale.

Here’s a recap of what I posted here on my blog for the month of July.

Books Read and Reviewed:

2

My Thoughts About Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan by Bob Ong (Book Review #114)
My Thoughts About The Vegetarian by Han Kang (Book Review #113)
My Thoughts About The BFG + The Twits by Roald Dahl (Book Review #112)
My Thoughts About Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8) by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne (Book Review #111)

Discussions and Features:

1

Book Tag #2: New York Times “By The Book” Book Tag
Book Blog Feature #9: Book Quotes from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
6 Book-to-Movie Adaptations that I’m Excited to Watch this Second Half of 2016
My Books for Less Warehouse Sale 2016 Experience + Book Haul

As for my plans for September, Manila International Book Fair is definitely on top of my priorities. It’ll run from September 14-18, 2016. I’m planning to get the books that I’m missing in the series’ that I have and also get more books by local authors. I am not sure yet on what days (yes with a S) will I be there but what I’m planning is to go there on the first day, Saturday and the last day which is Sunday. Based on my experience last year, I have seen how books easily ran out of stock. I went their on the first day and second to the last day where almost all of the books that I was planning to buy, which I listed on the first day when I was there, were already not available. So yeah, there’s that to consider. I am still trying to make sure that my schedule will allow me to be there on the first day but definitely, I’ll be there on weekends. If you’ll be there, I’ll be looking forward to meeting you. 🙂 Let’s haul some new books!

Talking about book hauls, the books that I got at the warehouse sale were not the only books that I got for this month (nothing surprising if you follow me for quite some time now 😉 ). I’m planning to post a book haul before the Manila International Book Fair so watch out for that. 🙂

For the book that I am currently reading, I am halfway through The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami.I’ve been craving for some Japanese authors lately so I decided to read this one up. This book’s good so far. For this month, I’m planning to finish reading a couple of review copies that I received from publishers. The next book that I am planning to finish is The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Lueselli. I actually started weeks ago but I got distracted by other books so I was not able to finish it. 🙂

Manila International Boof Fair (1)

How was you August? Will you also be going to this year’s Manila International Book Fair? What day? Any books that you have in mind that you’re planning to buy? Let me know your thoughts. 🙂

Follow me on my social media accounts below and let’s talk anything about books and life. 🙂

Facebook: bongbongbooks
Instagram: @bongbongbooks
Twitter: @bongbongbooks

SM

Check out my other monthly wrap ups. 🙂

July Wrap Up

June 2016 Wrap Up
May 2016 Wrap Up
April 2016 Wrap Up
March 2016 Wrap Up
February 2016 Wrap Up
January 2016 Wrap Up

4 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap Up

  1. MIBF will be the highlight of our September! So excited to go as well! 🙂 Definitely going on the first day ‘coz I’m afraid all the books I intend to get will get sold out by the second day! Haha! Great wrap-up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

