September 2016 Wrap Up

Hi there October, I hope we’ll get along well! On my Where And What I’ve Been Up To (A Life and Reading Update) post, I discussed how September became my most challenging month to read this year. Well the good news is, I can say that though slowly, I am getting back into that reading momentum that I previously have. So yeah, let’s move on. I’m very positive that October will be a better reading month for me. 🙂

Here’s a recap of what I posted here on my blog for the month of September.

Books Read and Reviewed:

2

My Thoughts About The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami (Book Review #115)
My Thoughts About Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate (Book Review #114)

Discussions and Features:

1

Book Blog Feature #10: Book Quotes from The Vegetarian by Han Kang
Where And What I’ve Been Up To (A Life and Reading Update)
My Manila International Book Fair (MIBF 2016) Experience and Book Haul

Luckily, I haven’t heard of any book sales or any bookish events happening this October so I can focus in reading. 🙂 I just finished reading Wounded Little Gods by Eliza Victoria which I bought during this year’s Manila International Book Fair so watch out for my review of it. My book review for Holding Up the Universe will also be up this week in time for the book’s official release (I was part of its Philippine book tour).

I’ll also be posting soon my book-to-movie reviews for Miss Peregrines’s Home for Peculiar Children and The BFG. I did enjoy The BFG a lot but sadly I was quiet disappointed with Miss Peregrines’s Home for Peculiar Children. More rants on my blog post about it so also watch out for that.

hmjo9xzagbxbxkigxo1vNot a movie adapted from a book but I also just want to add that I also was able to finally watch Kimi No Nawa (Your Name). It is Japan’s current highest grossing film of 2016. My friends had been nagging me to watch it and so I did. And I am glad I did. I have to add it here in this post because it’s really good! So good! I can’t get over it! It’s an animated movie that is a love story like no other with twists and turns like no other. I shed tears while I was watching the movie (shameless). Here’s the trailer and what it is all about:

Synopsis
The story is set one month after a comet has fallen for the first time in a thousand years in Japan. Mitsuha, a high school girl living in the countryside, wants to live in the city because she is tired of life in the country. Then, there’s Taki. He’s a high school student living in Tokyo with his friends while working as a part-timer at an Italian restaurant. He also has a strong interest in fine arts involving architecture. One day, Mitsuha dreams of herself as a young man. On the other hand, Taki also has a dream where he is a female student attending high school in the countryside. What’s the secret behind their dreams? (Source: MAL News)

How was you September? Did you also attend this year’s Manila International Book Fair? What books did you buy? Any current read that you are enjoying?  Let me know your thoughts. 🙂

I hope you’ll have a great reading month this October! 🙂

Follow me on my social media accounts below and let’s talk anything about books and life. 🙂

Facebook: bongbongbooks
Instagram: @bongbongbooks
Twitter: @bongbongbooks

SM

Check out my other monthly wrap ups. 🙂

August 2016 Wrap Up
July 2016 Wrap Up
June 2016 Wrap Up
May 2016 Wrap Up
April 2016 Wrap Up
March 2016 Wrap Up
February 2016 Wrap Up
January 2016 Wrap Up

2 thoughts on “September 2016 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

