November Wrap Up + December Bookish Announcements

Here’s a monthly recap for all the books that I reviewed and bookish things I posted for the month of November. πŸ™‚

November’s finally coming to a close and lot of good things happened to me this month and I couldn’t be even more grateful for that. The highlights of my month includes receiving a lot of books from publishers for review and attending my very first event as a book blogger which is a book launch (which I have yet to post an event recap for). I haven’t posted the event recap yet because I’m planning to read the book first and have the event recap and book review in one post.

Here’s my photo with the author on his book launch last November 23 at Fully Booked inΒ Bonifacio Global City and I am adding the synopsis of his book:

15178205_1574942962520843_2166420822159991682_n2Saw Her Standing There by Patrick Formanes. In New York City, there were these two people, Ryan and Lane. They met in high school, fell in love, and later married. Yes, to each other. From here, it would be easy to ask, β€œDoes anyone die? Did they turn into wizards? Witches? Ghosts? Vampires? How about zombies? Or, are they monsters of unknown origins, their only aim to annihilate their neighboring monsters by gnashing them to delicious morsels with their ridiculously sharp incisors, leaving the planet to stew in the juices and horrific odors of rotten animal flesh, splintered bones, and exposed innards, then kill each other because: (1) they get hungry again and (2) they don’t like vegetables?” No. None of that stuff will be found in this novel. Through these pages, you will learn about Ryan and Lane, who are regular humans devoid of any superpowers, as well as their fellow Filipino-American friends, and how they maneuver through personal challenges while attending their Queens high school. Follow them as they play sports, kiss (and more), use the foulest language, excel academically (at least most of them), fight, go to parties, eat food, take public transportation, and, most importantly, learn about each other.

In terms of reading, I can say that I did well. A normal month for me and the highlight being My Antonia by Willa Cather. Finally a classic! Here are the links to all my bookish blog posts for the month of November.

Books Read and Reviewed:

2

Book Blog Feature #12: Book Quotes from The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Book Blog Feature #13: Book Quotes from The Wangs vs. The World by Jade Chang

Books-Sent-By-Publishers Book Haul

Discussions and Features:

1

My Thoughts About The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (Book Review #119

My Thoughts About Absolutely on Music by Haruki Murakami and Seiji Ozawa (Book Review #120)

My Thoughts About My Antonia by Willa Cather (Book Review #121)

So let’s talk about December. πŸ™‚ The year will soon end and what it means is My Top 16 Books of 2016 post will soon be up! (Check My Best Books of 2015 here.)I can’t wait! I’m now drafting my post about it but I’m leaving some slots open because I’ll still be reading a couple of books this month that I have heard good things about and will probably be on my list. I’m also planning to start a series of blog posts wherein I’ll be exploring Philippine literature by way of reviewing books on genres that I haven’t touched that much (e.g. Philippine poetry, Philippine graphic novels etc.). I have read and reviewed here in my blog quite a few books by local authors but I feel like I have to do more. I see my role as a book blogger as a responsibility and opportunity to promote the books here in my land. So expect those blog posts to start this month.

December, like all the other Decembers of my life, will definitely be a busy month that’s for sure. I am really very excited for all the things that I planned! I do hope that you’ll also have a wonderful reading month this December too.πŸ™‚See you on my year-end recap! πŸ™‚

What’s the best book that you read this November? How’s your month? What book/s are you currently reading? Let me know your thoughts. πŸ™‚

Follow me on my social media accounts below and let’s talk anything about books and life. πŸ™‚

Facebook: bongbongbooks
Instagram: @bongbongbooks
Twitter: @bongbongbooks

SM

Check out my other monthly wrap ups. πŸ™‚

October 2016 Wrap Up
September 2016 Wrap Up
August 2016 Wrap Up
July 2016 Wrap Up
June 2016 Wrap Up
May 2016 Wrap Up
April 2016 Wrap Up
March 2016 Wrap Up
February 2016 Wrap Up
January 2016 Wrap Up

πŸ™‚

——–

Bongbongbooks needs your support! πŸ™‚

Bloggys 2016 – Philippine Blog Awards is now accepting nominations for this year’s best blog awards. “Bloggys is a nationwide blog awarding event in the Philippines. It continues the legacy of recognizing Filipino bloggers through a variety of niches and industries across the nation.”

14479580_893456224120891_2136713611152282394_n

Nomination runs from December 1-30, 2016.

If you think Bongbongbooks deserves to be part of that circle of winners, help my blog to be nominated. πŸ™‚

Follow these simple steps:
1. Head up to this website that will direct you to Bloggys’ nomination page – http://bloggys.ph/
2. Fill up the form with your name, email address and mobile number.
3. Under Blog Category, choose “Fiction and Literature”.
4. On the “I want to nominate:” section, key in my blog’s URL: http://www.bongbongbooks.wordpress.com.
5. There’s a part that will ask you to leave a message, you may want to put a message though it is not required.
6. Hit SEND.
7. You will receive a message confirming your nomination.

blog

8. An email will be sent to you confirming that successfully nominated a blog.

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR SUPPORT! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “November Wrap Up + December Bookish Announcements

Leave a Reply

