Book Blog Feature #14: Book Quotes from Para Kay B by Ricky Lee

So I was cleaning my bookshelf earlier today and I saw my copy of Para Kay B by Ricky Lee. It’s been a while since I read it. It is one of the best books I read. I browsed through it and I remember the passages from that made me really adore this book. Check my book review of the book here.

And call it a coincidence, but when I was searching for materials that I could use for this book blog feature, I saw a news article that Para Kay B’s sequel will be released next month, December! I checked Ricky Lee’s official Facebook account, and it’s true! Yes you heard that right, next month! What are the odds, right? I know that it’s coming since the author announced that he’s writing a sequel around 2020, and t’s been a while since that announcement. Caught off guard is probably the term. Now, I need to re-read Para Kay B.

To my foreigner readers, Ricky Lee is a Filipino screenwriter, journalist, novelist, and playwright. He has written more than 150 film screenplays since 1973, earning him more than 50 trophies from various award-giving bodies, including a 2003 Natatanging Gawad Urian Lifetime Achievement Award from the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (Filipino Film Critics). As a screenwriter, he has worked with many Filipino film directors, most notably with Lino Brocka and Ishmael Bernal. Many of his films have been screened in the international film festival circuit in Cannes, Toronto, Berlin, among others (Source: Goodreads). I hope some of his works get translated soon so that you’ll also get into his works.

Here’s the blurb of the sequel:

Lahat ng B

“Para sa lahat ng mga binasted, binitin, niloko, binalewala, pinaasa, nakalimot, nagparaya, hindi nadadala, di maka-move on, nadevastate at gusto munang magpahinga sa pag-ibig— eto na ang pinakahihintay na sequel ng Para Kay B ang karugtong ng mga kuwento nina Irene, Sandra, Erica, Ester, Bessie, at Lucas mula sa National Artist for Film and Broadcast Arts na si Ricky Lee.”


So this book blog feature will be like my tribute to Para Kay B in preparation for Lahat ng B. So here are the 5 best quotes from Para Kay B for me:

“Kakabog ang dibdib mo, kikiligin ang kalamnan mo at kikirot ang puso mo. Kabog, kilig, kirot. Kapag naramdaman mo ang tatlong K, umiibig ka.”
― Ricky Lee, Para Kay B

“Mas matinding nakakaalala ang puso kaysa utak.”
― Ricky Lee, Para Kay B

“Ang great love mo, hindi mo makakatuluyan. Ang makakatuluyan mo ay yung correct love.”
― Ricky Lee, Para Kay B

“Hindi mo pwedeng mahalin ang isang tao nang hindi mo minamahal ang hilaga, silangan, timog at kanluran ng kanyang paniniwala. Kapag nagmahal ka’y dapat mong tanggapin bawat letra ng kanyang birth certificate. Kasama na doon ang kanyang libag, utot at bad breath. Pero me limit. Pantay-pantay ang ibinibigay na karapatan sa lahat ng tao upang lumigaya, o masaktan, o magpakagago, pero kapag sumara na ang mga pinto, nawasak na ang mga puso, nawala na ang mga kaluluwa at ang bilang ay umabot na sa zero, goodbye na. Pero, the memory of that one great but broken love will still sustain you, tama nga na mas matindi ang mga alaala.”
― Ricky Lee, Para Kay B

“Me quota ang pag-ibig. Sa bawat limang umiibig, isa lang ang magiging maligaya. Ang iba, iibig sa di sila iniibig. Iibig nang di natututo. O iibig sa wala. O di iibig kailanman.”
― Ricky Lee, Para Kay B

I hope you enjoy these book blog feature as much as I enjoyed creating it. Now let’s wait for December for the release of Lahat ng B!

Leave a comment