My Thoughts About Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book Review #26)

10341509_1059034824111662_8232452321336351533_n

5 stars out of 5.

And I finally managed to get around this book after 2 millions at years of keeping it at bay. 😀

I already watched all the 8 movies (and enjoyed all of it) but I know that I still have to read the books. I keep telling myself before that since I already watched the movies I should just put Harry Potter on the bottom of the books that I have to haul and read. But then again, I realized if I’ll keep doing that when will be that time that I’ll get around all the Potter books. And so I decided to give them already a go and yes yes yes it lived up to my expectations.

I’ll skip the detailed plot summary since everyone, I guess, already know what the books are all about. Everything that is to say has been said about this book already. But basically, the first book follows Harry Potter’s first year at Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. And from there we follow Harry and his friends, Hermione and Ron, with their adventures. How he adjusted from just surviving his sinister relatives to dealing with goblin bankers, dragons, centaurs, unicorns, a three-headed dog and killing trolls. The book then follows their adventure in keeping the Sorcerer’s stone (a stone that could be used to create the Elixir of Life, which extended the drinker’s lifespan, as well as transform any metal into pure gold. – Harry Potter Wiki).

Now I understand the many people that adore Harry Potter, the author was able to breathe life to a fictional character. She created a genuine and unique magical world for the readers to enjoy. I love how the author played with words and managed to make the readers easily live the worlds that she made. I also love how the author was able to create each character distinct from each other. And how they are all engaging and rolled into one book. The interactions between the characters are so real. I easily connected to them and felt like one with them.

Rowling’s witty writing drew me in the moment I started reading the book. I love everything from it. Well it’s hard not to like the book really. The writing makes it very easy to follow. Chapters are like short stories and book is just a compilation of it. The book was written very simply but one can feel that that the author gave her heart writing it.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.” 
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

The book is intended to be read by grade school to middle schoolers but what can be learned from the book transcends boundaries of age. The book talks about finding hope and courage from your friends when all seems to be failing. It talks about how courage should not solely depend on how you’re strong physically but also how strong you are inside. And lastly, it talks about the optimism and believing that anything is possible pays well. It also talks about love and how it can defy anything.

Overall, this is a great start for the rest of the books. Clearly, Rowling knows how to entertain. This book deserves to be celebrated.

After finishing this, I am ashamed that I only started reading the Potter books at this late age. -_- After reading this book, I felt like, I am already one with the humankind. 😀 After reading the book, there’s no way I won’t continue with the series and after reading them all, I’ll definitely reread them again. This is just the beginning of my journey, and I know, I know it will only get better. 😀

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” 
― J.K. RowlingHarry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

5 stars out of 5.

One thought on “My Thoughts About Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book Review #26)

Leave a comment