My June – November Collective Book Haul Part 1

BOOK HAUL

And it’s here! It’s been ages since I last posted a book haul I am glad I was able to finally have time to check all the books and post it here. I was so immersed in writing book reviews the last few months and I was not in the mood in posting my book hauls. Pardon me for that. 🙂

Next time, I’ll be posting my book hauls on a monthly basis. I realized that, having a collective book haul is not a good idea as it’s a total pain in the back to check every book that I think I got in the last six months. I have to rummage boxes after boxes of books and check each. Now I understand the importance of being organized and keeping a tally of each book that I’m getting, so that once I’ll have to book haul again, all I just have to do is pick up the books.

I have a total of almost 100 books to show you and because of it’s number I decided to divide it into two posts. This first part consists of the trade paperback and mass market paperback books that I got and the post will include all the hardbound books. This first part is also divided into two sections, the first being the young adult section, second being the literary, contemporary and modern classics and lastly, books by local Filipino authors and publishers. Pardon me if I’ll wrongly classify one of the books here as I am not really good in classifying genres of books. 🙂 I am also not already sure about the order that I got these babies so I’ll just be posting them randomly.

For the books that I bought, it came from the book sales the last couple of months (thank you National Bookstore and Fully Booked), some are from secondhand bookstores (thank you Booksale, Books For Less and Chapters and Pages) and some I purchased thru online groups in Facebook that sells/trades books. I also have books that were given to me and won from giveaways.

I also have read some of the books and for my review, you can click the link that I provided at the end of each book title.

Enjoy!

YOUNG ADULT BOOKS

12190905_1234707469877729_5724928237815364624_n

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (Read my review of this book here.)
Boy 21 by Matthew Quick
Another Day by David Levithan
Every Day by David Levithan
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Forgive Me Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

12219632_1234707226544420_3464495555873855447_n

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Fallout by Ellen Hopkins
Glass by Ellen Hopkins (Read mmy review of Tilt by Ellen Hopkins here.)

LITERARY, MODERN AND CONTEMPORARY BOOKS

11221582_1234706389877837_6409714113607509902_n

Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle
The Sea by John Banville
Possession by AS Byatt
The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
The God of Small Things by Arundati Roy
The Finkler Qusetion by Howard Jacobson
The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

12096133_1234707203211089_1694561042364933137_n

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
The Hunters by Claire Messud
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally
The Way Forward is with a Broken Heart by Alice Walker
Housekeeping by Marilyne Robinson
A Separate Peace by John Knowles
Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay
Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar

12187888_1234707273211082_4595093659269023795_n

The Viking Portable Library of Arthur Miller’s Works
Summertime by J.M Coetzee
Some Love, Some Pain, Sometime by J. California (Read my review of this book here.)
Ilustrado by Miguel Syjuco
The Miane Woods by Henry David Thoreau
Bind up of If There Be Throns and Seeds of Yesterday by V.C. Andrews
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
A Book of Short Story Collections by Some Famous Authors

12191468_1234707293211080_7933162545127467533_n

Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson (Read my review here.)
The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera
Midwives by Chris Bohjalian
Self by Yann Martel
All the Names by Jose Saramago
The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein
Aloft by Chang-rae Lee
The Cleft by Doris Lessing

12191689_1234707309877745_555524823505609769_n

The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane
Under the Dome (Part One) by Stephen King
Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews
Joyland by Stephen King
East of Eden by John Steinbeck
The Viking Portable Library of Oscar Wilde’s Works
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

12227613_1234707406544402_9148296283299134592_n

Equus by Peter Shaffer
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
The Reader by Bernard Schlink
Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
Angels in America by Tony Kushner
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider (Read my review of this book here.)
Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (Read my review of this book here.)
Nigh Film by Marisha Pessl

12193453_1234707439877732_8709446041275950651_n

The Martian by Andy Weir (Read my review here.)
The Art of Thinking Clearly by Rolf Dobelli
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami
Winter Journal by Paul Auster
World War Z by Max Brooks
Teen Angst? Naaah… by Ned Vizzini
The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

BOOKS BY LOCAL FILIPINO AUTHORS AND PUBLISHERS

12187879_1234707326544410_34320100791644007_n

Stupid is Forevermore by Miriam Defensor Santiago
Para Kay B by Ricky Lee (Read my review of this book here.)
Si by Bob Ong
Si Janus Sílang at ang Labanáng Manananggal-Mambabarang (Janus Silang series #2) by Edgar Calabia Samar
Si Janus Sílang at ang Tiyanak ng Tábon (Janus Silanf series #1) by Edgar Calabia Samar
Maligayang Pagdating Sa Sitio Catacutan: Mga Kuwentong Kasisindakan by Tony Y. Perez (Read my review of this book here.)
Eros, Thanatos, Cubao: Mga Piling Katha by Tony Pérez
Cubao Midnight Express: Mga pusong nadiskaril sa mahabang riles ng pag-ibig by Tony Y. Pérez
Trese Comic Volume #6 (High Tide at Midnight) by Budjette Tan and Kajo Baldisimo (Read my review of this book here.)

So what books have you read from this bunch? Any book that you can recommend to me? 🙂

Watch out for the second part of my book haul that I’ll be posting this Friday. Thank you! 🙂

24 thoughts on “My June – November Collective Book Haul Part 1

  1. Great Scott! That’s a lot of books. Really like some of the books there. The Levithan books are awesome. Murakami, Arundathi Roy are pure awesome sauce.

    Here’s some books you might want to pick up. Some of my personal favorites:

    1) Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
    2) And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
    3) The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand
    4) The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
    5) One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia-Marquez

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Murakami is my most favorite author. He’s writing is magical, I must say. 🙂
      Thank you for the suggestions. I have copies of the Shadow of the Wind, And the Mountains Echoed and One Hundred Years of Solitude. They’ll definitely climb up my TBR pile. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re still in your 20’s and it’s just a matter of time management. I’m sure by 40’s when you have established your life, you will have built a library. So you still have time but of course reading is not just what matters most, try to live it up too as what one of your hobbies must be. 😛

        Like

      1. I’ve read, “Speak”, “House on Mango Street”, “Red Badge of Courage”, “The Notebook, “Schindler’s List”, and “The Lightening Thief”, which were all very good novels.

        Like

  2. Ohmygosh that is A LOT of books and this is only part 1! I’ve only read 4 of the books you listed: Everyday, Will Grayson, Will Grayson and both The Lightning Thief and Flowers in the Attic when I was still in high school (that was a really long time ago). I’ve always wanted to read Janus Silang. My sister says it’s a really good read.

    Haraiah @ Random Things In Action

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. 🙂 I myself didn’t imagine the books to be this many. 😀
      It really is! Janus Silang is indeed a good read. I’ve read books 1 and 2 in the series and I consider it as two of the best books I read this year. Just be ready with all the feels at the end on both. 🙂

      Like

  3. Looks like I’m not the only one who made out like a bandit on my last book haul! Yours reminded me that I really, really need to read Murakami who I have sitting on my TBR shelf. I’ve read The Reader, The Bell Jar, and the Martian, which are all absolutely brilliant. My friend didn’t like The Art of Racing In the Rain when she did her year-end roundup on her blog A Grey Box, though. =(

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment